TBR tag!

It’s been quite a busy week for me so far (starting a new job, studying for a midterm, laptop dying, and being sick), so I haven’t had time to start a new book, but luckily enough for me, Zezee tagged me for the TBR Book Tag! I’m not too active on the blogosphere in terms of connecting with other bloggers, but I thought this would be a fun post to do.

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?
I use Todoist, which is my current favorite time management app. I like having the list with me wherever I go as an app on my phone, so I can add to it whenever a book strikes my fancy.

Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?
I’ve completely transitioned into e-book at this point!

How do you determine which book from on your TBR to read next?
It’s honestly quite random, and usually dependent on whatever book I just finished. If I just finished a Stephen King book, I might go for some classic literature. If I just finished some classic literature, I’d probably go for something a bit more modern. And so on.

A book that’s been on your TBR the longest?
The Paying Guests, by Sarah Waters. I read Fingersmith for class a few years ago, and I’ve been eager to read more from Waters.

A book you recently added to your TBR?
Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. I was surprised it wasn’t already on there. In fact, it’s the book I’m planning to start next, once I’m finished all my readings for class.

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?
I’m mostly e-book nowadays so this isn’t really a factor for me anymore.

A book on your TBR you never plan on reading?
The Amazons: Lives and Legends of Warrior Women across the Ancient World by Adrienne Mayor. Like many of us, I’ve been fascinated by Greek and Roman mythology for a long time, so I added this book to my TBR after reading an article about it, but I doubt if I’ll ever get around to it. I tend to gravitate towards fiction.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?
The Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin. I read the first five books in one spurt and have been pining for the next book in the series for more than a year now (although I know that’s a comparatively short wait, compared to other fans)!

A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you?
Animal Farm, by George Orwell. I never was assigned to read it in school, and people have always told me that it’s not as compelling as Nineteen Eighty-Four, so I haven’t really made it a priority.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?
Maybe Lean In, by Sheryl Sandberg. I’m a woman who works in tech who knows many other women in tech, so I guess this makes sense.

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?
Americanah, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I once attended a diversity workshop for work, where they showed a clip of Adichie’s TED talk, “The danger of a single story”, and I was fascinated by her intelligent, honest approach to such a relatable topic. I’ve meant to pick this up but I always get sidetracked.

How many books are in your TBR pile?
Only 116! Who knows when I’ll get through all of them…

3 thoughts on “TBR tag!

  1. I’m glad you did the tag and I hope you feel better.
    Outliers was a good read for me though it has some dull sports. I think Gladwell presents an interesting case for why certain people succeed and others don’t despite their abilities.

  2. Cool ‘interview’!Outliers is on my books-I-will-read-when-my-already-long-list-ends :). I also like using ToDoist, but only for work. May I ‘borrow’ your little Q&A?

Leave a Reply

