What I read in 2014, and what I hope to read in 2015

I’m happy to say that despite various jobs, schoolwork, and other commitments, I happily surpassed my goal of reading one book a month in 2014. I managed to get through twenty-three titles, mostly novels (with one collection of short stories and one Gladwell pick):

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood
  2. Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens
  3. Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn
  4. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference, Malcolm Gladwell
  5. Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen
  6. A Spot of Bother, Mark Haddon
  7. The Reluctant Fundamentalist, Mohsin Hamid
  8. The Portrait of a Lady, Henry James
  9. Small Island, Andrea Levy
  10. Taipei, Tao Lin
  11. A Dance with Dragons, George R.R. Martin
  12. A Feast for Crows, George R.R. Martin
  13. Watchmen, Alan Moore & Dave Gibbons
  14. Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman, Haruki Murakami
  15. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, Haruki Murakami
  16. A Wild Sheep Chase, Haruki Murakami
  17. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, Haruki Murakami
  18. Bridge to Terabithia, Katherine Paterson
  19. Super Sad True Love Story, Gary Shteyngart
  20. Kidnapped, Robert Louis Stevenson
  21. Treasure Island, Robert Louis Stevenson
  22. Slaughterhouse-Five, Kurt Vonnegut
  23. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak

2014-12-25 01.42.20 1-1It seems strange to end off the year without mentioning Christmas. Happily enough, this Christmas, I received some excellent gifts to fuel my literary interests. Murakami was the author who dominated my year, especially my summer, which was spent poring over tales filled with cats, jazz cafes, solitary protagonists, and surreal happenings. Out of all the books I read in 2014, I would say that Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage was the one that left the biggest impact on me, with its subtle melancholy and not-so-subtle nostalgia. And in 2015, this obsession with Murakami will continue, since one of my friends was kind enough to gift me a copy of Sputnik Sweetheart.

In 2015, though, I hope to get even more reading done, especially with the help of my brand new Kindle Paperwhite, which I received for Christmas. I’d previously been ambivalent about e-readers, preferring the feel of crisp new pages and the simple smell of books to a screen, but after having used my Kindle consecutively for a week, I can definitely see the benefits. The Kindle is so light, a huge plus for people like me who use their long commutes for reading. It also has a very long battery life, and its Vocabulary Builder is too convenient for words (pun not intended). Although I still love the feel of a real book in my hands, I look forward to the new year with my new Kindle.

Happy New Year, and happy reading in the new year!

One thought on “What I read in 2014, and what I hope to read in 2015

Leave a Reply

